Lauren Flynn

Board of Commissioners
Title: District 2
Phone: 231-392-5010
Commissioner Lauren Flynn


Lauren Flynn was elected to serve District 2 on the Grand Traverse County Commission in November of 2022 to her first term. District 2 includes precincts Traverse City 7 and Garfield Township 4, 6, & 7. With her father working for General Motors, she grew up in Grand Blanc, Michigan south of Flint. After attending CMU and living in South Carolina and Florida, Lauren returned to Michigan 19 years ago to raise her children and settled in Traverse City. She has two daughters, Rachel (19) and Allison (17). Rachel is currently a student at Ferris State University, and Allison is attending Greenspire High School. As a single mother in Traverse City, Lauren worked many different positions in industries such as, hospitality, real estate, retail, and higher education, sometimes working more than one position at a time. Lauren went back to school at Davenport University to earn her Bachelor’s in Business Administration and continuing to earn her Master’s in Business Management. Because she experienced as a young working mother what so many citizens in Grand Traverse County still face, affordable housing, finding daycare, lack of mental health services, she wanted to give back to the community that helped her through and serve as a County Commissioner to help solve the issues and crises in our community. As a new Commissioner, she has been appointed to the Economic Development Corporation, Veteran’s Committee, Networks Northwest, and Northern Nexus. Lauren serves on the board of Generations Ahead, a non-profit that supports teen parents in Grand Traverse County and is the Director of Operations for the Grand Traverse County Democrats.

District 2

  • Garfield 4
  • Garfield 6
  • Garfield 7
  • Traverse City 7
  • Total District 10,573

Commissioner Assignments

  • Economic Development Corporation
  • Networks Northwest
  • Northern Nexus
  • Veteran Affairs

Mailing Address 

532 Cromwell Drive, Traverse City, MI 49686


Return to Staff Directory