The Treasurers staff is available M-F from 8:00 am until 5:00 pm, except for holidays via phone and email, to support the citizens of Grand Traverse County during this public health emergency.
Limited appointments for in person business will be available, M-F from 8:00 am through 4:00 pm. We ask that you respect our most vulnerable citizens and allow them the preference of appointments from 8:00 am - 10:00 am.
Please note individuals will be required to go through a health screening before entering the building as well as wear a mask and practice social distancing while inside the building.
Michigan Law requires dogs over 4 months of age, newly purchased/ acquired, or are just becoming Michigan residents obtain a Michigan Dog License. Grand Traverse County uses 100% of revenue generated thru dog licenses to provide Animal Control Services to residents. *Dog licenses are issued based on your dog's rabies vaccination date, NOT the date you purchased the license.*
Importance of Licensing
A dog license helps to get your dog home safe if they become lost.
It's the responsible thing to do. Licensing protects our community by ensuring dogs are vaccinated against rabies.
It's the law.
First Time License Purchases
Make an appointment to stop by our office or one of our authorized Licensing Locations. Please bring your current/valid rabies certificate. A certificate of sterilization is also required if the information is not stated on the rabies certificate or is incorrect. Rabies certificates will be returned to you for your records. *Rabies shot is required to be administrated by a certified veterinarian*
As a courtesy, the Treasurer's Office will mail a renewal notices one month before a license expires. Failure to receive the notice does not relieve a dog owner of their responsibility to renew an expiring dog license.
If your veterinarian is one of our authorized Licensing Locations you may purchase a new license when your dog receives their rabies vaccination.
You can mail in or make an appointment to renew your dog license. You will be required to provide a current and valid rabies certificate. A certificate of sterilization is also required if the information is not stated on the rabies certificate or is incorrect. Rabies certificates will be returned to you for your records.
Payments can be mailed to our office:
Grand Traverse County Treasurer's Office
400 Boardman Ave. Ste. #104
Traverse City, MI 49684
Please make sure you include:
Payment-Checks made payable to: "G.T. County Treasurer". Please DO NOT send cash.
Current Rabies certificate for your dog.
Please reference your phone number on your check so we may contact you if we have questions on your renewal.
Licensing Fees Effective 1/1/2017
*Puppy License only available to dogs who are 8 months or younger.
Non- Sterilized Dogs
If your dog has lost their collar or if your license number is no longer legible please contact our office. We can assist getting you a free replacement!