Parks and Recreation Commission

About the Parks and Recreation Commission

Parks and Recreation's mission is to enhance community and quality of life through people, parks and programs. 

Regular Meeting Schedule
Regular meetings of the Grand Traverse County Parks and Recreation Commission are held on the second Thursday of every month at 5:30 p.m., in Commission Chambers, Second Floor, Governmental Center, 400 Boardman Avenue, Traverse City, Michigan  49684, except when that day falls on a holiday observed by Grand Traverse County and is identified by resolution on which business is not conducted, or on any Election Day.  If there is any change with this schedule, notices will be provided to the public.
Business Development Team Meeting Schedule
 Regular meetings of the Business Development Team of the Parks and Recreation Commission are held the first Tuesday of every month, at 5:30 p.m. in Gilbert Lodge at Twin Lakes Park, 6800 N. Long Lake Road, Traverse City, Michigan 49685.  If there is any change with this schedule, notices will be provided to the public. 

Rules Committee and Strategic Planning Ad Hoc Committee
These committees meet, as deemed necessary.  Meeting notices are provided to the public.

TBAYS Board Meetings
Regular meetings take place on the second Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m., at TBAYS’ office

1820 Oak Hollow Dr, Suite B, Traverse City, MI 49686

NER (Natural Education Reserve) Advisory Committee Meetings

Meetings take place quarterly at Boardman River Nature Center, as scheduled by Conservation District Staff
Meeting Schedules - PDF Document
Agenda and Minutes 

Agenda is available prior to each meeting. Minutes available, upon approval.

View Most Recent Agenda and Minutes

View Archived Agenda and Minutes

Business Development Team for Business Planning:  Civic Center Park

  • Alisa Korn
  • John Sohacki (Citizen Member)
  • Pete Albers (Vice Chair)
  • Rod Kivell (Chair)
  • Rodetta Harrand

Rules Committee

  • Grace Edinger
  • Jalen Provo (Chair)
  • Rod Kivell (Vice Chair)

Strategic Planning Committee

  • Grace Edinger (Vice Chair)
  • Jalen Provo (Chair) 
  • Joseph Underwood
  • Rod Kivell
  • Whitney Waara (Citizen Member)

Traverse Bay Area Youth Soccer (TBAYS) Board Representative 

  • Jalen  Provo

NER Advisory Committee (Representative)

  • Joe Underwood
  • Alisa Korn (Alternate) 

Governing Documents